When someone has been charged with a drug crime in the state of Utah, they need to be aware they may be up against stiff penalties that could haunt them for the rest of their life. Like all states, Utah has recently been cracking down on drug offenders so it is important defendants seek the help of a lawyer for their Utah marijuana possession charges.
Understanding the Possible Penalties For Drug Possession
When a person is caught with drugs, the penalties they face will depend on the amount of drugs found on them, their intent for use or sale, and their previous charges. In the state of Utah, anything under a pound results in a misdemeanor charge while anything over a pound is a felony.
Attempting to sell drugs results in a felony charge, regardless of the amount being sold. It can also result in up to five years in prison and up to $5000 in fines. The fines and penalties go up if a person was attempting to sell in the presence of a minor or within 1000 feet of a school.
It is important to note, any conviction of a drug charge automatically suspends a person’s driver’s license for six months, regardless of how minor the charge is. Those with previous convictions will find the class of their charges to be moved up a degree, depending on how many convictions they have had.
Why Hire a Lawyer?
It is imperative defendants hire a lawyer to help them with their drug or alcohol charges. Because of the stiff penalties, this is not something a person would want to try and defend without the help of a St. George Utah DUI lawyer.
A lawyer will protect their client’s rights and work to ensure they get the best possible outcome. Although they cannot offer any type of guarantee, they can certainly give their client peace of mind and help them better understand their rights, the law, and the process they must go through.
If you would like help with your drug charges, call the office right away to get started. They will be happy to meet with you and help you with your legal needs.